Savage bolt-action 17 cal. centerfire

Started by bowhunter 51, February 27, 2006, 06:01:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bowhunter 51

Shot my friend's Savage 17 caliber yesterday.....looks like it might make a
great little varmint rifle....9X scope......What do ya think about it for coyote?
**********God Bless America**********
>>>>-----------Live to Hunt--------------->>
>>>>-----There is no off season--------->>

gitano

Which CF .17 is it. If it's the .17 Remington (a necked-down .223 essentially), you'll find both Daryl and I pretty high on it's use as a "coyote gun". I've been shooting one for about 25 years, and it's never let me down.

Paul
Be nicer than necessary.

bowhunter 51

Yea, it's a .17 Rem.....I thought it might be good for coyote...It's about the only

varmint that we have in abundance, here...I'm thinking about tradeing for it......

Gmoney

Long as it's not the HMR you are good.....
-Greg

Personal field testing trumps everything no matter what Field and Stream says, what your degree of perceived manhood is, or what your buddies think.

Daryl (deceased)

Bowhunter51,

Like Paul said above, he and I are pretty fond of this cartridge.  It works really well on coyote and bobcat sized critters, with virtually no hide damage.

Do you handload?  If so try RL-15.  Several folks I know get really good accuracy with this powder and Berger match bullets.  Remington primers are pretty much a standard for many folks who shoot this cartridge.  Some primers with softer metal have caused some problems for a few I know.

Daryl
A government that abrogates any of the Bill of Rights, with or without majoritarian approval, forever acts illegitimately, becomes tyrannical, and loses the moral right to govern-Jeffrey Snyder

RIP Linden33

bowhunter 51

Naw!....don't handload....Might if I trade.......I'm sure I'll need you guys to help
me on that issue, should it develop.....What's the story on the HMR?..Gmoney..
I'm not knowledgable of that!.............