The History of Lee Enfield Bolt Action Rifles

Started by gitano, November 05, 2014, 06:33:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gitano

I am starting this thread to initiate an "investigation" into the history of the Lee Enfield Bolt Action military rifles. My desire is to do what THL does best, provide unemotional facts about a given firearms related matter, and debunk any and all myths surrounding that subject. If everyone sets their egos and nationalism aside and focuses on finding the Truth, we will have provided a reference that ALL can use.

Let's keep this a "research project". By that I mean that we don't speculate about some specific point. Repeating what experts - real OR self-proclaimed - have written is expected to be supported by citations, OR such repeats MUST be qualified by pointing out that "this is what I read from "Joe Blow"", or "this is a commonly held belief but I have no personal knowledge about it's veracity". Of course anyone can repeat without citation any FIRST HAND knowledge they have obtained through personal, HANDS ON, research. (This doesn't mean "I know this is true because I read it in "Joe Blow's" book and now I "know" it too.") If you didn't determine something with your own hands and eyes on a rifle, then cite where you got the information. I will ask those that post without citations or qualifiers to edit their own posts to add the citations or qualifiers, or they will be deleted.

Let's make a VERY serious effort to STAY ON TOPIC. This thread is about the HISTORY of Lee Enfield battle-field rifles. It is NOT about "how good they are". It is not about whether they are "better" or "worse" than some other firearm. It is not about the "goodness" or "badness" of any cartridge in which they were chambered.

Finally, let me remind everyone that we are all FRIENDS here. The Golden Rule RULES.