A Father's day to remember.

Started by sakorick, June 17, 2007, 02:02:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sakorick

I have had so many problems with so many rifles I was feeling blue. However, armed with new data from Paul and a fresh "can do" spirit I elected to take on the ultimate challenge, the Ugly Duckling. First, over coffee, I studied the scope mounts and scope operation. Since it is all German, I tried to think like a technition. However, it would seem our German friends didn't think things out the well afterall!:Banghead: . You see, the windage *****s are on the front mount, not the rear like we are use to. So, if you want to move the POI left.....you must move the adjustment......further right. Now, the scope is another problem. The scope knob on top ot the Hensoldt Wetzlar moves the entire reticle up and down.....sounds easy........NOT. To move the POI down, you have to move the whole reticle UP! Thinking done, we move on to Paul's load theory......

Paul has done very sophisticated testing on the 8mm Mauser round and he is right as rain. I ran my own tests and found that there is no way you can overcharge a 8MM JS cartridge with IMR4064......the primers don't flatten, the primer holes stay tight, the brass looks new, the bolt doesn't care and the chamber/barrel seem to like the moderately higher pressures.

And now, off to the range.....I'll let the pictures do the talking. The load I ended with is still 1/10 grain less than the Sierra manual. If you've been blowing off the 8mm Mauser cartridge like I have for the past umteen years, you are sadly mistaken. Questions answered to the best of my technical skills.....others directed to Paul. OBTW...forget any bullets heavier than 150gr in a K-98.

Finally, happy Father's day. Regards, Rick.

Talk to yourself. There are times you need expert advice.

Alboy

Looks like a doable for deer or most anything else to me. Congrats on the work up and finding a shooter.

Oh yea HAPPY FATHERS DAY
Alboy