What might have happened?

Started by Ed B., October 17, 2005, 06:49:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ed B.

This is my first year getting back into bowhunting.  I may be a little rusty on tracking.  Or maybe just a complete lack of experience with a bow.
I shot at a buck a few days ago at 15 yards.  I've spent alot of time practicing before the season started.  I concider myself an accurate shooter at 25 yards.  I took a less than desireable shot at it.  It was a completly open shot though.  I aimed for the center of his throat at the bottom near the top of his chest cavity.  After I released the arrow the deer ran off.  I was sure I hit him.  I got down and looked for blood.  There was none.  There was also no hair.  So I looked for the arrow.  Couldn't find it either.  I waited an hour and a half and had a small search party help me.  One guy is a real experinced tracker.  After several hours of searching a couple hundred yard radius we gave up with no sign that I even took a shot.  Is there any chance that the deer only bled internally?  If so, wouldn't I have at least found hair?  If my shot was true, the arrow would likly stayed in the deers body but it would have hit vitals I would think.
Any suggestions on what happened?

Thanks,
Ed

Highstand

did you hear the arrow hit the deer? Were you on the ground? Don't have all the facts but sounds like a clean miss.

Highstand

SuperMag

I've only personally arrowed one deer, but I have witnessed and tracked many deer.  I'm going to agree with high stand and say that it sounds like a clean miss.  As for the whereabouts of your arrow that's a tough one.
SuperMag

Ed B.

I was in a stand about 15 feet up.  I heard something but don't know what the whack sound was.  Assuming it was a hit, it was the first one I arrowed.  Assuming it was a miss, that was the first time I shot directly into the ground.  So I'm not sure either way what the sound was.

Ed

SuperMag