best catridge for hunting deer and elk

Started by agent00, August 06, 2005, 10:39:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

agent00

Hi, its me again, and at the moment I am saving money for a new centerfire rifle for hunting deer and elk. I am a newbie in hunting and what caliber would you recomend  for hunting deer and elk, and I would be pleased hearing a few bullet type tipps for deer and elk.

M1Garand

There are probably at least two dozen rounds that would fit the bill fine, however some are much more popular than others. My personal opinion is that unless you're an experienced hunter/shooter and with elk in the mix, I'd say the minimum caliber to go with is a .270 or .308 Win. I know some of the guys on here will say the .243 works well but IMO, they are experienced hunters and know their and the rounds limitations. Other calibers that may work well are the 30-06 and 7mm Rem Mag. There are many others but these four are very common and would work great within most hunting ranges.  

For deer, any decent PSP bullet will work, you don't have to spend $35 on a box of Swift A-Frames. The Remington Core Lokt, Winchester Powerpoint and Federals Power Shok rounds will work well and only cost you maybe $15 a box. Find out what shoots well in your rifle and go with it.

For elk, I'll admit I've never shot one and maybe someone who has will throw in their 2 cents, but they are a lot bigger and tougher than deer. You can't go wrong with the Nosler Partition, Accubond, Rem Ultra Core-Lokt, and a host of other quality bullets. If any of the rounds shoots well in your rifle, place your shots well and you could use that bullet for both.

Gmoney

-Greg

Personal field testing trumps everything no matter what Field and Stream says, what your degree of perceived manhood is, or what your buddies think.

Hunterbug