Range Report

Started by sakorick, August 08, 2008, 12:27:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sakorick

Did some experimenting with 100 gr Noslers in the 6.5-'06 AI. Shot two groups 5 shot group at 100 yards and a 4 shot group at 250 yards. Something felt very bad as I studied the vertical string. Disassembled the rifle and to my astonishment, the rear screw guard was not tight. Upon further inspection I noted the rear guard screw pillar was not installed!:Banghead: The rear guard screw in a Mauser action is critical as this locks the action with metal to metal contact. Without it, you have metal to wood contact which crushes the wood and allows the screws to loosen up.:eek: Well, I went out to the shop and found a spare pillar reassembled the rifle and shot 2 more groups with 120 gr Noslers....my deer load. The picture tells the story....rifle fixed and all is well!:biggthumpup:

Sidebar. Guard screws are critical to accurate consistent shooting. Most manufactures recommend 60 inch pounds of torque. I have a Wheeler FAT torque screwdriver available from Midway for around 45 dollars. Now I set all my screws including scope rings to the proper torque. 60 inch pounds is a lot more than you think! Regards, Rick.
Talk to yourself. There are times you need expert advice.

gitano

It's nice to have a rifle that puts 'em where you aim 'em. Nice shootin'.

I'm assuming you didn't adjust the 'scope between the 100-grainers and the 120s. That assumption being correct, it's also nice that both bullet hit close to the same POI.

Paul
Be nicer than necessary.

sakorick

Quote from: gitano;81811It's nice to have a rifle that puts 'em where you aim 'em. Nice shootin'.

I'm assuming you didn't adjust the 'scope between the 100-grainers and the 120s. That assumption being correct, it's also nice that both bullet hit close to the same POI.

Paul