That dirty word for all of us couch potatoes

Started by kombi1976, March 19, 2008, 02:06:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kombi1976

Yep...that's the one - exercise.
Since the most recent major repair on my lemon of a 4x4 and the decision that it will be sold I decided the best solution was to ride to work.
It's pretty flat most of way and is about 2 miles at the most so I figured I could definitely manage it and I can certainly bear losing a some pounds - about 40 actually!
So yesterday I went down to the most serious cycle shop here in town and bought a Giant mountain bike and a new helmet.
Can you believe 24 gears is STANDARD these days!!
Anyhow, it seemed comfortable and I did about a mile riding around yesterday arvo.
Then I was up this morning with a change of clothes in my backpack and I set off for the ride.
I'm a school teacher and the ever present possiblility of being heckled by students is not one I relish but as I was on the roads about 45 minutes before school starts there were very few cars and even less students.
I was expecting a 15 to 20 min ride and was stunned to find that it had been closer to 10 minutes.
It was also exceptionally easy, so much so that I moved up through the gears quickly and found my eyes streaming from the wind, even with sunglasses on.
Only the rise at the end and the pain in my behind from a being unaccustomed to the saddle were downsides.
I found myself at work more than 1/2 an hour earlier than I usually am and much more refreshed.
Mind you the real test is making it happen EVERY day.
But the exercise is quite good and I can't see it difficult to make myself do it regularly, at least until it gets a fair bit colder.
Anyone else cycle to work?
Cheers & God Bless
22lr ~ 22 Hornet ~ 25-20 ~ 303/25 ~ 7mm-08 ~ 303 British ~ 310 Cadet ~ 9.3x62 ~ 450/400 N.E. 3"

davidlt89