Go Back   The Hunter's Life > HUNTING FORUMS > BIG GAME

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next

Bleaching a bear skull
Old 10-21-2008, 07:48 PM
Moderator at Large

davidlt89 has disabled reputation
Default Bleaching a bear skull

I decided not to get the hide tanned on my bear this year, just seemed like money we did not have right now so I decided to bleach the skull myself and see how it turns out. I figured there may be someone on here who is bored enough that this thread might seem interesting So I decided to show each process I go through right up until the end.
I took the hide out of the freezer Sunday and put it in the garage. It has been so cold here that is was just thawed enough today to start skinning. Now, keep in mind, I have never done this before, all suggestions are welcomed. I took one photo of the bear before I touched it. I then started by going across the top of the head and worked my way down. You would be surprised how much "meat" is on the head!!!!!
the second picture is off the base of the skull where the spine hooks on. I know on a human the first two vertebrae (C1 & C2) are called the atlas and axis. I stared at this for a few minutes and was baffled as how I was going to remove them from the skull. while I was thinking I happened to notice my hatchet and began to chop. I got rid of most of it, but I believe C1 is still there.
after that I just did the basic skinning job and got the rest. the last two pictures are after I was done removing the hide and some muscle.