Standard Cartridge Series - 218 Bee

Started by Jay Edward (deceased), October 10, 2004, 06:23:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jay Edward (deceased)

As it happens NF...the 218 Bee is the next cartridge in this series.  

I've known many riflemen that are loyal to this cartridge 'above and beyond'.  As a matter of fact, there is a fella, locally, that's been after me to rebarrel his Martini Cadet in this chambering.

I've shot this cartridge a couple of times, even owned a Model 43 in this chambering, but I have no real experience.  I'll look to NF to give some commentary.

NUMBERFARMER

The 218 Bee is the companion cartridge that I pack when I am shooting the 22 hornet. The Bee is very economical to shoot as long as you reload. Factory ammo is in my opinion very expensive. The gun I use with this cartridge is a Ruger #1 topped with a 6 power Leupold M8 scope. I try to keep my shots on praire dogs within a range of 200 yards, and have found the cartridge to be extremely efficient when utilized in this manner. My particular rifle shoots the 40 grain v-max the best followed by the 40 grain ballistic tip. Surprisingly the cheap 50 grain winchester power point shoots almost as well as the two premium bullets. Since all three bullets produce 10 shot groups under an inch at 100 yards out of my rifle, I choose to reload the cheaper winchester bullet. Given the maximum range that I try to limit myself to there seems to be no real reason to use the more expensive ones for the small gain in accuracy.

I have had the best results using H4198 in this cartridge and use it exclusively at this point. My rifle will allow me to load 14 grains with the 50 grain win and 15.3 grains with the two 40 grain bullets mentioned. I use winchester brass and WSR primers. I am able to seat bullets quite a bit longer since I am using a single shot rifle. The cases have been very durable, and it is an easier round to work with than the hornet, at least for me.